Eating in Suwon & Bundang

Boyeong Mandu: finally a Mandu place I enjoy in Korea!

I am picky with food, and when I first arrived to Korea and tried the jjinmandu (equivalent to Chinese Shuijiao, or dumpings) I got quite disgusted. I gave it a second and a third try, since I like my dad’s dumplings a lot, but it was just failure after failure.

Finally, a Chinese colleague told me about this Korean popular chain that serves dumplings similar to those in China, and I loved it!!! Boyeong mandu is Cheap, Fast, and Good. It’s the perfect place to go for a quick yet delicious lunch, and I go at least once a month with some colleagues when we are too tired from company food.

Heaven~
Heaven~

This place is located near Samsung Electronics Digital City in Suwon, and therefore it is packed of Samsung employees at lunch time from Monday-Friday. It opens everyday except the 2nd and 4th Monday of the month. The price is usually around W5,000 per person, with dishes starting as low as W3,000 and the most expensive ones for W5,000.

02. menu

We ALWAYS order at least 1 plate of jjin mandu (steamed dumplings) and 1 plate of gun mandu (fried dumplings). After that, everything is optional. I am not sure what is that makes these mandu so much better than others. I am thinking it’s probably because they put more meat and less crap (read weird veggies and tons of garlic and spices). I love the steamed ones the most, because I usually prefer the dumplings like that and it’s way healthier. However, I must say the fried mandu here are also delicious, very hot and crunchy. You should cut them in half with the scissors they provide unless you want to burn your tongue ^^

04. jjinmandu and fried mandu

Sometimes we got Kimbap (2 rolls), sometimes we got jjolmyeon, a dish consisting on cold noodles with a lot of cabbage and a red sauce that I will never understand or appreciate. We also tried the soup mandu, which comes hot. I liked most of the dishes, but most of the times we felt like we needed some more mandu and ended up ordering an extra portion of it.

05. other dishes
Kimbap, jjeolmyeon, and mandu soup

The place is quite small and usually pack at lunch peak time (12), but service and rotation are really quick, so by the time we left at 12:45, it was almost empty. I just went today again, first time on a weekend, and it wasn’t as crowded as usual, but there were still several tables eating at the time~

03. restaurant pic

Opening hours: Everyday from 9:00 to 2:00 AM (except 1st and 3rd monday of the month)
Contact: 031-212-1331 / http://www.bo0mandu.co.kr/intro/ 
Address: 1261-1 Maetan-dong, Yeongtong-gu, Suwon-si, Gyeonggi-do, South Korea / 경기도 수원시 영통구 매탄동 1261-1
Mimi’s Rating: 9/10 (Food: 9, location: 9, price: 10, service: 7)
Plus: Really good value. I spend around 5,000w every time I go, and I end up really full.

OTHER LOCATIONS:

1. Yeongtong

Opening hours: Open until 5AM (Thanks Maggy for the info)
Contact: +82 31-206-5566
Address: 1009-1 Yeongtong-dong, Yeongtong-gu, Suwon-si, Gyeonggi-do, South Korea/ 수원시 영통구 영통동 1009-1 아이텐텐빌딩 1 층

2. SKKU

Opening hours:
Contact:
Address:

Enjoy!

One thought on “Boyeong Mandu: finally a Mandu place I enjoy in Korea!

Leave a Reply

